Special education programs are designed to provide residents with an opportunity to add an additional year of training outside of the standard 12 months of clinical base and 36 months of clinical anesthesia training.

Residency training programs wishing to participate must apply to the ABA for consideration prior to seeking approval from the ACGME. Programs approved and designated to serve as special training programs by the ABA must then request approval from the ACGME prior to final consideration by the Resident Review Committee (RRC).

Once approved, programs may offer residents an opportunity to add up to a year of research or a year of specialized training in critical care medicine, pain medicine, adult cardiothoracic anesthesiology, hospice and palliative medicine, sleep medicine or pediatric anesthesiology.

view program proposal guidelines and requirements

ACCM Fellowships

Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine Fellowships

In 2013, the ABMS Board of Directors approved joint sponsorship between the ABA and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (ABEM) of certification in Anesthesiology Critical Care Medicine (ACCM). Emergency physicians can now apply for ACGME-accredited ACCM fellowship training after their Emergency Medicine residency training. When they have completed a 24-month ABA-approved CCM fellowship, they can seek Board certification.

Programs that wish to offer a two-year fellowship must receive prospective approval from the ABA before any trainees accepted into the two-year anesthesiology critical care medicine fellowship can qualify for certification under the training pathway.

Training Requirements for ACCM Fellowship Programs Program Application FormEligibility Criteria for ABEM DiplomatesFAQs for Emergency Physicians

Approved Two-Year ACCM Training Programs

  1. Case Western Reserve University/University Hospital Case Medical Center Program (Approved 8/26/13)
  2. Washington University/B-JH/SLCH Consortium Program (Approved 8/26/13)
  3. University of Michigan Program (Approved 11/25/13)
  4. Jackson Memorial Hospital/Jackson Health System Program (Approved 12/3/13)
  5. University of Florida Program (Approved 12/4/13)
  6. University of Alabama Medical Center Program (Approved 12/4/13)
  7. University of Chicago Program (Approved 12/31/13)
  8. Emory University Program (Approved 12/31/13)
  9. Stanford University Program (Approved 12/31/13)
  10. University of Washington Program (Approved 12/31/18
  11. UCLA Medical Center Program (Approved 12/31/18)
  12. University of Iowa Hospitals & Clinics (Approved 3/13/14)
  13. New York Presbyterian Hospital – Columbia Campus Program (Approved 7/9/14)
  14. McGaw Medical Center of Northwestern University Program (Approved 7/9/14)
  15. University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Medicine (Approved 9/4/14)
  16. University of Cincinnati Medical Center/College of Medicine Program (Approved 9/16/14)
  17. The University of Colorado School of Medicine Program (Approved 12/18/14)
  18. University of California (San Francisco) (Approved 6/22/15)
  19. Loma Linda University Medical Center (Approved 1/13/16)
  20. University of Texas - Southwestern (Approved 6/20/16)
  21. University of California - San Diego (Approved 12/6/16)
  22. Oregon Health and Science University (Approved 10/4/17)
  23. George Washington University Hospital (Approved 4/16/18)
  24. Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center (Approved 4/25/18)
  25. Medical College of Wisconsin Affiliated Hospital (Approved 1/11/18)
  26. Medical College of Georgia (Approved 11/16/18)
  27. Vanderbilt University Medical Center (Approved 11/27/18)
  28. Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine (Approved 4/8/19)

Dual Pathway

The American Board of Anesthesiology (ABA) and the American Board of Pediatrics (ABP) have agreed to a pathway that allows an individual to complete training in pediatric critical care medicine (PCCM) and anesthesiology in a shorter period of time than is required for separate training in each of the disciplines. Satisfactory completion of the pathway would confer eligibility for certification in both disciplines after 5 years of training.

The pathway includes the following stipulations:

• The pathway is available to those who have completed the required training for certification in general pediatrics.

• Both the anesthesiology and PCCM training must be completed in the same institution or in close geographic proximity in the same academic health system.

• Training in pediatric critical care medicine may precede or follow training in anesthesiology, or the training may be fully integrated.

• An individual in the pathway must be identified by the end of the first year of training or preferably before training begins in anesthesiology and critical care medicine.

• An outline of the five-year plan that details how the training requirements of the ABP, the ABA and the ACGME will be met must be submitted to both boards for approval.

• Individuals will be approved for this pathway on a case-by-case basis; programs will not be approved.

• Although double counting of scholarly activity/research experience is allowed, all clinical training requirements for both disciplines must be met.

• Six months of the scholarly activity required for PCCM certification will be completed during the six months of research time allowed during the anesthesiology residency.

• The trainee's Scholarship Oversight Committee will oversee this training, as required by the ABP's General Criteria for Certification in the Pediatric Subspecialties.

• The five years of training will not confer eligibility for certification in pediatric anesthesiology by the ABA.

• Trainees in the pathway will be eligible for certification in both anesthesiology and PCCM upon the satisfactory completion of all five years of training.

• Certification in one discipline is not contingent upon certification in the other.